12th October: Happy Independence Day Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is a Central African country comprising the Rio Muni mainland and 5 volcanic offshore islands. Capital Malabo, on Bioko Island, has Spanish colonial architecture and is a hub for the country’s prosperous oil industry. Its Arena Blanca beach draws dry-season butterflies. The tropical forest of the mainland’s Monte Alen National Park is home to gorillas, chimpanzees and elephants.
Capital: Malabo
President: Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo
Currency: Central African CFA franc
Population: 757,014 (2013) World Bank
Prime minister: Vicente Ehate Tomi
Official languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese

What are your thoughts? Please comment below and share this post!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *